EurSafe | European Society for Agricultural and Food Ethics

Uploaded by RRI Tools on 18 June 2018



From 01/01/1999 to present

The European Society for Agricultural and Food Ethics (EurSafe) is an independent organisation, which provides a network for those who have an interest in the ethical issues involved in agriculture and food supply.

The Society is an international, interdisciplinary and cross-cultural organisation, which bridges academia and the world of practice. After a successful first Congress in Wageningen in 1999, EurSafe was established in 2000 during the second Congress in Copenhagen.


  • To encourage international academic research and education on the ethical issues involved in agriculture and food supply
  • To encourage international scientific and public debate on the ethical issues involved in agriculture and food supply


EurSafe strives to achieve its aims through various activities

  • Organising a communication network for people from professional practice, academic disciplines, social organisations and public administration
  • Organising Scientific Conferences
  • Publishing Newsletters
  • Initiating incentive prizes, such as the Vonne Lund Prize for best student paper and poster at the EurSafe Congress
  • Promoting visiting fellowships and special professorships at prominent universities







The Society is legally based in the Netherlands. The first Statutes of the Society were written in 2000 and approved by the General Assembly. Thereafter, the Statutes were amended and changed in 2007.
The Executive Committee is elected by the General Assembly. The composition of the Executive Committee aims to maintain a balance between disciplines, languages, nationalities, and gender.
President - Kate Millar
Centre for Applied Bioethics, University of Nottingham, United Kingdom
Vice president - Franck L.B. Meijboom
Utrecht University, The Netherlands
Secretary - Bernice Bovenkerk
Wageningen University, The Netherlands
Treasurer - Dirk de Hen 
The Netherlands
Stef Aerts
University College vzw Odisee/ Katholieke Universiteit Leuven, Belgium
Diana Dumitras
University of Agricultural Science and Veterinary Medicine Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Leire Escajedo 
University of the Basque Country, Spain
Herwig Grimm
Messerli Research Institute, University of Veterinary Medicine, Medical University of Vienna and University of Vienna, Austria
Anna Olsson
Institute for Molecular and Cell Biology - IBMC, Portugal
Thomas Potthast
International Center for Ethics in the Sciences and Humanities, Eberhard Karls Universität, Tübingen, Germany
Helena Röcklinsberg
Swedish University of Agricultural Science, Sweden
Former Presidents 
Prof. Cees Veerman, NL (1999-2000), former Minister of State of Agriculture, Nature, and, Food Quality and former Chair of the Executive Board of the Wageningen University and Research Centre, The Netherlands
Prof. Peter Sandøe, DK (2000-2007), Director of the Centre for Bioethics and Risk Assessment, Faculty of Life Sciences, University of Copenhagen , Denmark
Matthias Kaiser, N (2007-2016), Director of Centre for the Study of the Sciences and Humanities, University of Bergen, Norway
Honorary Members 
Prof. Ben Mepham, UK (2009), Centre for Applied Bioethics, University of Nottingham, UK

Related Resources